Welcome to The Marlow Society

The Marlow Society is a registered charity whose efforts are devoted to the preservation and development of Marlow and the surrounding villages and countryside.

We seek to represent all those who enjoy living in, working in, shopping or just visiting our beautiful town situated on the banks of the River Thames, in the foothills of the Chilterns Area of Outstanding Natural Beauty.

Read more about us...

 


 

THE MARLOW SOCIETY Local History Group Committee 2015 Programme (published 22/1/15)

For MS Lectures (7.30pm, Main Hall, Liston Hall, Chapel St.) a charge of £2.50 per member /£4.00 per non-member is made.

For LHG Talks (7.30pm, Garden Room, Liston Hall, on the 3rd Monday of most months) a charge of £1.50 per member / £3 per non-member is made.

For LHG Walks, a charge of £2.50 per person is made. Children are not charged.

There is no need to book for lectures, talks or walks – just turn up and pay on the day.

For LHG Visits, which often include a pub lunch and car-sharing, booking is required. Any charge will be advised at the time of booking.

Date

Time

Venue

Subject

Speaker/Contact

Mon Jan 19

7.30pm

Garden Room, Liston Hall

Bisham Graveyard

Patricia Burstall

Tue Feb 17

7.30pm

Assembly Rooms

Memories of Marlow WW1

Paul Burden and Michael Eagleton

Mon Mar 16

7.30pm

Garden Room, Liston Hall

The Search for Marlow Manor House

Janet Smith

Tues Mar 24

7.30pm

Main Hall, Liston Hall

Stanley Spencer and Cookham

Ann Danks

Wed Mar 25

10.30 am

Walk round Cookham

Followed by lunch at the Ferry

Booking Essential , Peter Bailey 476610

Sat. Apr 25

10.30am

Bisham Church

Guided tour by Patricia Burstall

Booking essential, ring 482754, donations welcome

Mon. Apr 20

7.30pm

Garden Room, Liston Hall

Photos of High Wycombe

Ann Biggs

Sun May 31

2.30pm

Museum, Court Garden

Town Walk (guided walk)

Mon. May 18

7.30pm

Garden Room, Liston Hall

Life of a Town Clerk

Bill Reid

Mon. Jun 15

7.30pm

Garden Room, Liston Hall

TBA

Wed Jun 24

11.30am

Visit to Stonor,

Pub Lunch. Visit with guide, Tea

Early Booking Essential , Peter Bailey 476610

Sun. Jun 28

2.30pm

Museum, Court Garden

Forgotten Marlow (guided walk)

Mon. Jul 20

7.30pm

Garden Room, Liston Hall

TBA

Tues Jul 21

11.00 pm

Dorney Court

Visit and Pub Lunch

Early Booking Essential , Peter Bailey 476610

Sun. Jul 26

2.30pm

Museum, Court Garden

Victorian Marlow (guided walk)

Sun Sep 13

Heritage Open Day

Geoff Wood

Mon. Sep 21

7.30pm

Garden Room, Liston Hall

TBA

Sun. Aug 30

2.30pm

Museum, Court Garden

Town Walk (guided walk)

Mon. Oct 20

7.30pm

Garden Room, Liston Hall

Local Photographs

Barry Lea

Mon Nov 16

7.30pm

Garden Room, Liston Hall

Current Research WW1

Andy Ford

Tues Nov 24

7.30pm

Main Hall, Liston Hall

Treasures of the County Museum

Will Phillips

Other events, e.g. Walks and Visits may be arranged during the year.

For further information on any of the LHG Talks or lectures, contact Peter Bailey (tel. 01628 476610)

Due to the increase in charges by the Royal Mail for our P.O Box Number to £244 and the ever increasing move to electronic communications the Society has changed its postal address to:

The Hon Secretary

The Marlow Society

22 Rookery Court

Marlow SL7 3HR

Whenever possible please contact us via: This e-mail address is being protected from spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it

The Marlow Society is pleased to announce that Volume Seven of The Marlow Historian is now on sale. Copies can be purchased from the Information Centre in Institute Road or by contacting Peter Bailey on 01628 476610.

In the new Historian you will find articles on Kenneth Grahame, Frank Percy Wilde, TS Elliot and Edgar Wallace all of whom lived in Marlow. Other interesting articles include one on "Richard of Cornwall and Marlow's Medieval Deer Park", The Marlow Workhouse and General Sir George Higginson after whom our splendid riverside park is named. There is lots more of interest.

Get your copy soon!